Call Now
1800 102 5277


Updated on: Mar 18, 2013
Dibrugarh is a beautiful city surrounded by tea plantations. It is one of  the important cities in the northeast with a population of 122,523 (2001 census). Situated on the bank of the river Brahmaputra, it is the second fastest growing city after Guwahati, in the entire northeast. It is rightly known as ‘the tea city of India’ by being the gateway to three tea producing districts of Sibsagar, Tinsukia and Dibrugarh itself. 50% of India’s Assam Tea crops are from these three districts.

Dibrugarh has many beautiful tourist spots. Joypore Reserve Forest is a place where tourists visit in large number every year. Some of the other very famous tourist spots in Dibrugarh are Dehing Satra, Koli Aai Thaan, Sarumechlow and Bormechow Maidam.

Dibrugarh always witnesses a heavy monsoon every year, during June-October. Otherwise, it always has a moderate climate with average high temperature of 29°C and average minimum is 19°C. Summer seasons (April-May) have a maximum of 40°C and winter (October to March) has a minimum of 5°C.

Like any other places in Assam, Bihu is the main cultural festival celebrated with great enthusiasm every year.

Educational Scenario of Dibrugarh

With the oldest university in the entire northeast ,Dibrugarh University,and with some of the best and reputed colleges and institutes like Kanoi College, Dibru College, Salt Brook Academy and numerous other institutes, Dibrugarh is considered to be the education hub of upper Assam. With excellent faculty and administration, the city colleges generate a learning ambiance for the aspirants all across the country.

Assam Medical College, offers courses in both graduate and post-graduate level, and also runs courses in dental and nursing.

It can also boast of some of the best schools like Kendriya Vidyalayas, Little Flower School, St. Mary’s schools, etc. which provide excellent quality education to its students.

Among the city's many other institutions of higher learning are the DHSK Commerce College, Duliajan College, Namrup College, Dibrugarh H. S. Kanoi College, and Naharkatia College.

Subscribe to our newsletter